Arcana: Musicians on Music

John Zorn

Answering a need for critical attention towards experimental and avant-garde music, Arcana is a ground-breaking work –as far-ranging and dynamic as the current generation of musicians. Through manifestoes, scores, interviews, notes and critical papers, performer/composers address composing, playing, improvising, teaching, and thinking in and through music, Rather than an attempt to distill or define musicians’ work, Arcana is a remarkable book–challenging and original–essential for composers, musicians, theorists and fans alike.

status Copy #1 (3671): in
genre Music ยป Music Theory
publisher Granary Books
publish date January 2, 2000
popularity checked out 4 time(s)


  • By Future Man -

    Arcana: Musicians on Music is an incredible collection of essays by many great modern composers and improvisers of the American avant-garde. Edited and including a preface by John Zorn, this collection includes a sprawling array of writings, including a piece by Marc Ribot disparaging the technical short-fallings of the guitar, an essay on silence by pianist Anthony Coleman, who was featured in the recent installation of our Future Jazz series, and an essay and set of notated exercises by Bill Frisell, which are as minimal yet profound as his guitar playing.

Leave a Reply